I saw the sign.

So I’ve got this porch, right?
20100518_7

It felt a little bare so I took it upon myself to do something about that!

IMG_0614

The thing I wanted to highlight was the number sign I made. We had some pretty standard brassy numbers before that I wasn’t a fan of. I found some better, more modern numbers at home depot.
IMG_0617

I tried installing them where the original numbers were but the holes didn’t line up and I didn’t have anything to drill into the bricks with, so I did the next best thing! Make a sign!

IMG_0624
It’s pretty straightforward. I had two pieces of wood I bought a long time ago. I found something in the junk bag of hardware items that looked like it could hold it together, there are certainly better options, but I was going for free, stained it, then I lined up the numbers where I wanted them to go and went to town.

IMG_0620
I love how they sit raised up from the wood.

IMG_0625
I hung it with some twine. It’s been up for about a year and has survived the Oklahoma storms.

IMG_0626
It works for me! Now, please don’t stalk me.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I saw the sign.

  1. I love this! I have a built-in plaque with numbers that I’m not a huge fan of, but I think it’s pretty permanent.

    • Gloria

      Whenever it comes to decorating, NOTHING is permanent! Usually I start something and then halfway through, I’m like, what am I doing? Oh well, too late to turn back!

  2. Hey, Nice! Followed your link from AT (way to pimp your blog…I do the same!). I might just have to go snatch up a set of #s like these. I wish they were bigger though (not thicker…just BIGGER).

    Mr. Modtomic

    • Gloria

      Haha, I don’t normally pimp out my blog, it just happened that the project looked a lot like mine! If you actually follow the link on AT, which I didn’t at first, the numbers are actually cut out of wood and painted to look like metal. So really, they could be any font and size you wanted. I’m not too handy with a jigsaw, but maybe you would have better luck!

  3. Alison

    Love it!! I need to replace an old sign, and this is how I am going to do it!! Thanks~

  4. Julie Brazelton

    Where did you get your front porch chairs?- juliebrazelton@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

