Parenting is easy.

I don’t know why everyone complains or could ever get burned out. All kids need are candy, movies and puppies. Bam, entertained.

I was babysitting ALL weekend, but still managed to get my own stuff done. I wasn’t about to let the weekend disappear without accomplishing something. On thursday, I saw an interesting piece on craigslist. HOWEVER, I work during the day AND don’t have a car big enough to pick up big furniture pieces on a whim so I had my servant mom go pick it up for me. She is the best So for the rest of that day I was so anxious ready to get home to meet this monster.
IMG_0343

And if you don’t like painted furniture, don’t read any further. This guy needed some attention. I thought it was a wonderfully unique piece, but it had A LOT of cat scratch fever. You just can’t see it in this photo. I always forget to take the “Before”

IMG_0345

Yeah, I really suck at before pictures, it looked in focus on my camera screen! This is the armoire after sanding and putting pretty little feet on it. It needed the height. It was suffering from a little man complex.
IMG_0352

In case you couldn’t tell, I have this awesome process that I turn to when painting a piece. Its call CHAY-OS. Works like a charm. Sometimes, when other items just happen to be in close vicinity, I gets painted with the same color on my paint brush at the time…. Notice the white bowl? Happens more than you think, more than I think for that matter.

IMG_0350

When I went to the store, I couldn’t find anyone working the paint mixer, so I left empty handed. I really didn’t want to paint it bright white, but after going through dried up paint bucket after paint bucket, I thought I would have to postpone this project. Fortunately I found some paint left over from the previous owners. It was label back door, and since I’ve already painted the back door turquoise, I don’t need the color for touch ups.  It ended up being the most awesome solution ever. It was exterior semi gloss, and I loved the finish on it. I didn’t need to put any kind of protective coat on it. Totally saved me a step. I could even use this baby outside! Kidding, there are absolutely no plans to do that.

Anyways, I had to mix in some white paint to lighten the color up. It was perfect! Other than the main color, I really wanted to do something special with the paint job. There wasn’t too much detail in the wood to highlight, so I opted to paint the 6 drawers to look like a gradient.

Painted armoire

IMG_0441

IMG_0431
So much storage, its awesome.

IMG_0432

IMG_0435

I would like to paint the insides and maybe add some fabric to the back of the doors. Just need to go shopping now!

P.S.!!!!!

IMG_0794
You can see the current room it’s in here.
Miss Mustard Seed's Creative Blog

20 Comments

Filed under Before and Afters, House, What did she paint now?

20 responses to “Parenting is easy.

  1. I LOVE the gradient paint job you did. Such a cool piece of furniture!

  2. Reenie

    That is really cute.

  3. The gradient really makes the piece. So beautiful!

  4. I just had to stop by and tell you how much I love this!!

  5. Chúcara

    Beautiful !!!

  6. Hi, friend! I’m admiring all your creative posts here so can you please share them with us at the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop? The link is at http://www.homemakeronadime.com/2011/04/creative-bloggers-party-hop-042411.html. Thank you so much :)

  7. Awesome! I just found your blog and had to check this remodel out! I have an armoire that needs some loving and I want to turn it into a craft center too! Now I have an idea…I love the gradient.

  8. Wow, I just love that gradient job! DIYs like these are what inspire me when I see totally gross furniture on Craigslist. I applaud you for your vision!

  9. I need one of these! It’s awesome. Love the gradient. Brilliant. I have such a hard time deciding what to paint when it’s for me. Anyone else, no problem. But my own stuff? Back and forth til I’m nutty. More nutty.

    • Gloria

      Isn’t that the truth! Usually I go with my strongest idea that sticks out to me. Otherwise, I could go back and forth for months trying to decide. Sometimes you just have to do it and not look back! Usually, the worst is that it needs to be repainted if it doesn’t work out and I always have to remind myself, its not the end of the world.

  10. Pingback: The Artist’s Dojo | A Little Paint

  11. WOW! I love this, great job. I hope to find something like this on craigslist!

  12. It came out just darling!! I host a link party on the weekends if you would like to come share sometime!

  13. That is lovely! I found you at Courtney’s link party =) Thanks for sharing!

  14. I just love this piece! Very unique & you did such a beautiful job! Love the gradient colors.

  15. Lisa K.

    Beautiful outcome, incredible transformation!

  16. Sabrina

    I just purchased this EXACT piece only mine is in a lovely shade I refer to as pepto pink (ugh) Trying to come up with some paint ideas to transform it and I stumbled across your blog. Just thought I’d share! Love what you did with it!

Leave a comment